I inherited my brother's mac & I've never used one before

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
mac Powerbook G4 os X 10.4.????
and thank you for reading this!
I'm a pc user since 2003 and now that I've inherited his Mac ( And, since he was 56 years old we had no reason to share passwords) and so now I'm afraid to shut it down. Does anyone have any idea what I need to do to turn "his" powerbook G4 into mine?
Not to mention that I'm completely lost learning this thing & once in a while I have to go play on my pc to know I'm not a total bumbling idiot! :Confused:
Just getting the opposite finger to take me some place with his trackball mouse took me forever to learn?
thanks for any insight you might be able to lend!

Sillyoldgurl

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Some questions:

1. Is there anything on this laptop that you need to save?
2. Do you have any Operating System install disks? If you do, which version?

Welcome to Mac-Forums,

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Here are my standard tips for "switchers", just some things that you will find are different from Windows.

Tips for new Mac users:

You cannot cut and paste files in the Finder as you can in Explorer. To move or copy a file from one place to another, the Mac way is to open both the Target and Source folders, then drag and drop the file or folder. There are nuances depending on where the Target folder is. For example, hold down Option while dragging a file to copy it to a folder on the same volume.

The green button at the top does not expand the window to fill your screen. Very few windows need the full screen, so what that does is expand the window so it's large enough to handle the content. This will almost always leave some background visible.