Have I made a mistake buying a G3????

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.0 CD/2gb/120gb. iMac G5 1.8/2gb/120gb
Of course I found this forum AFTER jumping on what I thought was a great deal... but, here is my dilemma: About ~4 months ago I was absolutely FED up with Windoze. And I used Macs, exclusively, (g4 800mhz/256mb) in all of my journalism classes and I fell in love with them. So, fast forward to this week, and my pc laptop (less than 2 yrs old) just flat-out died on me. Perfect oppurtunity to buy an iBook, eh? Well, I'm just a poor student, and even with the discount the cheapest iBook is still about 400 dollars too much. $500 is/was my budget. Period. I can't even afford that with my car note, insurance, living expenses, not to mention tuition (scholarship only pays about 60%)...you get the picture. I found a friend of a friend that had a G3 800mhz iBook with 640 mb RAM, 30 gb harddrive, and dvd/cd-rw drive (including case, printer, apple mouse and keyboard, and even a first generation iPod) for $550.00. So what, I went over my budget by 50 bucks, but this is the same speed iBook as the G4 800mhz desktop, right? WRONG!!! Seems that there is a HUGE difference in the G3 and G4 processors... sucks for me. I'll admit though, that all I use my laptop for is internet/word processing at school, so even this system should suffice, right? For curiousity's sake, how do you think this computer will stack up against my previous laptop, which was an acer travelmate 233 with 2.0ghz celeron processor, 256mb ram, and a 30gb hard drive? I'm thinking it will probably stack up similarly to the acer. Also, is it possible to put an AirPort card on this iBook? My friend's friend says that I can't put one on there, but I recall reading that all you have to do is lift the keyboard up to install the card, right? Anyway, thanks for the help, and I'm sorry for the long-ish (grammatically incorrect, sorry it's late...or I guess it's early...) post, but you get the picture, right