imac or powermac?

A

atacinus

okay, i.m debating between two systems...an imac [17incher] or a powermac G4 [can.t afford the G5]...what i want to do is edit digital video...i.m not talking like a dad who wants some shots of baby...this is something i do for a living. I understand the powermac is upgradeble harddrive wise, but that is not a point i care about...I have several external firewire harddrives anyway...i want to know the difference between a single 1.25ghz powermac G4 and a 1.25 ghz iMac...is there really even a difference...i looked at the tech specs for both, and ironicly, the only spec that wasn.t the same was the only thing i didn.t understand....on the powermac G4 it says it has an L3 chace of 1mb DDR SRAM...that isn.t true for the iMac...that is the ONLY difference i see...the processor speed is the same...hard drive the same...ram the same...system bus the same [167mhz]...basically i want to know can the iMac edit HIGH END final cut pro [not express] video? it seems as if it can and the only advantage of powermac is multiple displays and expandability...but if i don.t care about expandability and would rather have an iMac if possible...can it do what i need? Thanks to anyone who replies either to the thread or e.mail me directly. [[email protected]]

Christien

OP
M

Mr.Curlynose1

I say go for the PowerMac. I believe what the cache is is the speed at which everything moves throught he system, which means it would make video editing faster for you. Having 2 monitors is nice too, plus the complete expandability of RAM, etc. I'm not dissing iMacs, that's the kind of Mac we have, but for what you're doing, I think you would be best with a PowerMac. iMacs are made for casual computing :cool:.

OP
A

atacinus