Switching from to PC Mac

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

i am looking into upgrading to a Mac. I am looking towards the Mac pro 2.8 Quad Core. I am new to Mac right now i am have a old G4 mac tower that i am playing with that has OSX 10.4 tiger which i got it for free. Okay I am looking into video editing for my church and also will be installing windows with bootcamp to play my favorite games like BF2 Bad company COD MW 2 and others. I was thinking of buying a gaming pc but the mac captured my eyes. Will it be better to get a Mac pro or an Imac. Please advice since this is the first time i am going to buy a mac. i am going to use it for video editing and also playing games.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Will it be better to get a Mac pro or an Imac.

A Mac Pro will certainly be more powerful than an iMac...but then a Mac Pro is MUCH more expensive as well.

If you do a lot of gaming...conventional wisdom is that a Windows computer would be a better choice for gaming.

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac, 3.06GHz duo, 4GB RAM, 500GB Hard Drive, NVIDIA 9400M| 8GB iPod Touch
If you want the best gaming performance go for the Mac Pro. You can upgrade the graphics card and other components yourself. Those games will run on an iMac, just not as well as on the mac pro. If gaming performance is not very important to you, then get the iMac. Even the 21.5" iMacs can handle HD video editing.

OP
D
Reaction score