Office suites and external monitors

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

This is my first post so please bare with me!

I hopefully will be switching to mac in September, timing with the of the start new university year.

I intend to get either a Macbook or Macbook pro 13" (allowing me to take it home) and also an external monitor so I can work on a bigger screen at university.

As a student my main software use will be an office suite. I know there is iWork and also Microsoft Office for Mac. However I don't know the difference between them. Which would be better? Does iWork work better with Mac than Microsoft Office?

The university medschool (where I am based) is now switching to 100% PCs, but this shouldn't matter assuming both suites handle .docx files (is this true?).

In summary which is the best suite to get? And also can anyone recommend a 19-20" external monitor and the cables I will need for each laptop?

Thanks all.

Gurd.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.06 iMac i3|12GB|500GB
Welcome to the forums!

I recently just finished college where I was an English Secondary Education major, so I really needed an office suite that had all the bells and whistles. I also didn't want to cough up over $200 for one.

That being said, I used (and still do) NeoOffice. It has all the functions of MS Office and is fully compatible with it (so it won't be difficult bringing your files to PCs). Its presentation is nearly identical to Word, Powerpoint, and Excel so you'll know how to use it right away.

And it's free =)

As for the monitor, you could get the adapter which allows you to use any DVI monitor with your macbook. I would personally go with a nice LCD monitor (I currently have a 20" Dell widescreen).

Good luck!

Reaction score