• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Final Cut Express Help?!

Reaction score
I am new to FCE and can barely figure out how to do anything which makes me EXTREMELY frustrated. It would be GREAT if someone could answer my questions. If you can't answer all of them then that's fine- answer as many as you can.

1. What is a sequence? (Located in the Browser). Are there multiple sequences in one video or just one? What are they there for? Are they important?

2. How do you put video and audio TRANSITION effects into your video? I know how to put the video and audio filter effects in my video, but not the transition one. I'm having so much trouble figuring this out.

3. How do you cut a video? What I mean is, how do you only use a portion of a video? I imported a clip that was about a minute long but I only want a few seconds of it. How do I do this in the easiest, simplest, quickest way possible?