Emulator or virtual machine?

Reaction score
Hi,

Mac newbie here. I have some Windows only software which I plan to use on my Mac. I guess my choices are either using an emulator or a virtual machine.

Is there any difference in the performance or functionality between the two? Will any windows software run normally using an emulator or are they software specific? Are some emulators better than others? Do emulators slow down or inhibit the software in any way?

I'm running Snow Leopard on a unibody Macbook Pro i7.

For what it's worth the software I was planning on using is Solidworks 2010, Mastercam X3, Metastock 10, Premium Data and possibly a few others at a later point in time.

Thanks
Splint

Reaction score
Hi,

I've only had a Mac for a couple of days too, so I'm no expert...

However I have installed Windows 7 using Parallels Desktop 5 on my iMac and have to say I was quite astonished at how easy it was to get going and just how well it integrates into the Mac Operating system. Not really noticed any slowdown on the Mac and the PC side of things runs at the same speed, if not faster, than my old Laptop! It defaulted to something called "Coherence Mode" which means the windows start menu appears in your Mac dock and you get a Windows applications dock too.

Not tried any of the software you mention though - so far I'm just running PaperPort 12 and Money 2005 on it as there just doesn't seem to be any Mac equivalents to these. They both run flawlessly though.

Hope that helps a bit until someone more knowledgeable comes along!

Cheers,

Steve

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2