difference in core duo and i5

Reaction score
I am purchasing a new macbook pro and trying to decide if the i5 is worth the extra money. I'm an architecture student and photographer so graphics is important and I'll most likely be running some architecture programs that require some power. At the same time cost is a big factor and I'm looking into buy a refurbished mac and see a lot of core duo macbooks for sale and just want to know if it won't make too big of a difference in the machine compared to the i5 or if a better graphics card is better or what. Thanks for any help.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Note: Moved. Does not belong in Suggestions.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 15" MacBook Pro OS X 10.7.x & some old Macs
Since most of us probably haven't used the programs you are talking about the better solution would be to find the system requirements for those software. If all you care about is speed then yes the i5s will be faster. The newer computers also have faster graphics cards and has the option for higher resolution.

The Core 2 Duos are still fast machines but it depends on how fast you want your computer to run. If it mets the minimum software requirements then it will work but probably not as fast as you want it to.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" Imac, 3.06 ghz processor, 1 TB HD, 256 meg ATI Graphics card
Hi,

I am running a duocore Intel iMac 27" and it is plenty fast with programs like Photoshop using large high resolution photos from my Pentax digital SLR.
So far it has had no issues running any software I can load on it.