Mac Mini or iMac

M

macwannabe

I've been thinking about making a switch to a mac for awhile now, and I just got a nice raise and thought now might be the time to do it. My main issue is, I just don't know what kind of mac to get.

I love the looks of iMac's, and one could easily be my main pc for years to come. However, I've never used a mac before, and that's alot of cash to lay down. So that brings me to the mini's. They seem like a good solution, I will mainly use it for internet/email/work apps. Are the mini's worth it? If I add what I want to one, it's still going to cost me $1,000.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac no more - Sony Vaio FZ4000
I understand your hesitance to lay down a large chunk of cash for a system you're not familiar with. I was in a similar situation less than 2 months ago and decided to go with a mini. While I think the mini is a great system and I love its simplicity and size, it's not quite powerful enough for my needs and I am already looking to sell it and get a G5 iMac. That may not be the case for you, so you should think about what you will use your mac for. In total I spent £1000+ for the 1.42Ghz, 512MB RAM, Airport + Bluetooth, Superdrive, 80GB HDD, 19" Monitor and AppleCare Plan. For about an extra £100 I could've gotten the 17" 2.0Ghz iMac which comes with all of those options and more.

Just remember that this an investment and you should be happy with that investment, but also keep in mind what its use will be for. Hope that helps you with your decision.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
My setup: 17in SD iMac G5, 1GB RAM & 12in iBook, 1.5GB RAM (Both computers standard config.)
My advice is go to an Apple Store (or some place that carries the computers) and mess around with both. I think if you go mess with the computer you will probably like it enough to just spend the money for the better system!!