New iBook switcher

Reaction score
Greetings...

I am new to mac's but not quite to this forum. Been a lurker and occasional poster in the process of waiting/getting my mac.

I ended up with a 12" iBook, probably with the intention of adding an iMac or a Power Mac if I catch a deal. I have been laptop-only for 5 years, so I needed something new and portable, but didn't need the portable power of a Powerbook. So I decided to get the most portable (12" iBook) and add a non-portable power system later.

So far I have loaded up 3 programs so far: camino, aim and MS Office.

AIM was for a few reasons over iChat, such as that my gf likes to hit the 'hide' button when shes on aim so she appears offline but can IM people. On iChat on the mac @ school in a lab, I found that I could read her IM, respond once, but not turn it into a conversation because it didn't recognize her as being online. Also, iChat didn't handle custom smileys the same was as standard AIM.

Camino I got cuz I heard its good and I have been a mozilla user for 4 years.

MS Office came with my system, and I needed some sort of productivity suite, so Office it is.

I am into photography and I am also a programmer. I will be getting the latest Adobe Creative Suite when I get back up to school and get the educational version (cheap).

I guess my question would be..what else should I load up?
Any really good or vital widgets/utilities/programs?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ibook G4 14in
welcome to the club!

maybe a program like onyx or cocktail for regular maint.
downloading wmv helps, or you can try vlc.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks, I will check those out.

A couple other things too:
Within a program, how do you tab through windows.
Such as: safari/camino tabbing through tabs?
or in Aim/iChat tabbing through different chat windows?
in windows you use ctrl-tab for some of that, and alt-tab for tabbing through programs (i know apple-tab replaces alt-tab for that)