• This forum is for posting news stories or links from rumor sites. When you start a thread, please include a link to the site you're referencing.

THIS IS NOT A FORUM TO ASK "WHAT IF?" TYPE QUESTIONS.

THIS IS NOT A FORUM FOR ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO USE YOUR MAC OR SOFTWARE.

This is a NEWS and RUMORS forum as the name implies. If your thread is neither of those things, then please find the appropriate forum to ask your question.

If you don't have a link to a news story, do not post the thread here.

If you don't follow these rules, then your post may be deleted.

Ibook update. When?

J

jmmdg6

I am new to the world of macs, perhaps not even born yet. I recently used my first mac for a class at school, and became hooked. I am now looking to buy a ibook soon. I started researching the ibook 2 months ago, and everyone told me to wait for the update. It has been very difficult to be so patient, and I am worried I may have to go find a different laptop to satisfy my needs. It is hard enough to even find speculation on any updates forthcoming. That is why I have started this thread. Please post any info you have on possible ibook updates. Thanks.

OP
B

BrianH

Ah, I was trying to wait for the ibook update for a month just letting my money collect, and alas i had enough to get a powerbook with a superdrive. (I ate bologna and cheese for a looong time to save the extra cash ;) ) but boy it sure was worth it. I honestly think the ibook update will happen when the powerbooks get updated.

Think like this, if the ibooks get updated the gap between the powerbook will become smaller than what it already is. 300 mhz, hard drive space, ram, and the 32mb vs. 64mb memory. So im guessing they will probably only add 100-150mhz 40 gb hard drive and no memory, even though tiger really needs the 64mb.

If your new mac is going to be your sole computer, get a powerbook. My mac is my now sole machine, as i gave my XP machine to my mom to use.