uninstall

S

sexton

Does anyone know any other ways how to unistall programs in macOSX instead of moving them to thrash?

OP
U

unl33t

sexton said:
Does anyone know any other ways how to unistall programs in macOSX instead of moving them to thrash?

in a terminal
cd /Applications/
rm -rf program-name

thats the quick and easy way to do it.....

OP
S

sexton

can you give me a more detailed explanation because I'm quite new with mac OSX

OP
U

unl33t

for that i would have to recommend picking up a book on the Unix operating system. in short.
the "cd" and "rm" are commands that you type into a terminal window. (in OSX, its found in Applications -> Utilities)

the command "cd /Applications" brings you to your applications folder in the terminal window.

from there you can view a list of Applications contents by typing "ls -la". this will give you a listing of what's there.

finally the command "rm -rf program_name" removes any mac application who's name matches the program_name that you typed in.

poof, gone, no recycle bin, or second chance. for as though as this is, make sure you spell EVERYTHING correct. if you accidently put in the wrong program name and its removed. you will have to reinstall it.:(

and thus is a very brief introduction to Unix, the underside of OSX. very powerful, the command line is, yes. at first it will be esayer to drag/drop programs to remove them, but if you take the patch of the command line and learn learn learn, it can actually be easier. :cool:

hope this helps out a little at least

p.s. if you want to find out more of what those commands do, in the terminal window type "man cd" or "man rm" this will tell you a little more about the commands and tell you what some of the options/flags do and how to use them.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro Quad Xeon 2.66GHz 3GB RAM, G4 Quicksilver w/Sonnet 1GHz Encore ST, 1ghz G4 Powerbook