• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Making a show reel DVD using Quicktime and AVI files

Reaction score
hello there, I'm a video artist and need to make a showreel with both my and other artists' work on it for an exhibition.

The films will be projected and be very large so need to be at uncompressed quality and two of them are multi-channel and therefore cannot be reimported into Final Cut without being compressed into a pixellated mess. I have exported my film in Quicktime and was going to use Quicktime to make our showreel, but unfortunately one of the other artists has used Premiere on her pc and it will only export it as a Quicktime file at email quality, so she needs to export it as an AVI file. Is there any way of burning a DVD that contains both Quicktime and AVI files without losing any quality?

Thank you !

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
I'm assuming your target media is a VIDEO DVD - ie: one that will play on a generic standalone DVD player