Which Mac solution for serious amateur photographer?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
About to buy...
Hi Everyone,
This is my first post. I'm glad I found this forum. I am on the verge of purchasing a Mac. The question is, which one? The aim is to use it mainly for photography as I'm an amateur photographer (I use a Canon 5DMkII, RAW files), but also to stock our family's documents. I'm also just starting to use the video option (HD) on the 5DMkII. We would like a small laptop with an integrated webcam for 'on the move' and also a larger and FAST desktop solution. Should we go for:
1. a MacBook Pro (15 inch 2.8GHz) attached to the Apple LED Cinema Display 24 inch. Is the screen HD? Should we just consider a HD screen from another brand, ie: Samsung, as the Apple screen is very expensive?
2. MacBook Pro (13 inch 2.53GHz) AND a iMAC 27 inch or 21.5 inch? My concern with the iMAC would be that if the screen fails, then you've lost your pc??
3. Other options?
4. Time capsule, Aperture 3 and perhaps Photoshop Elements as I'm currently using it.
5. Am I right in saying that none of these Macs has a slot for Compact Flash cards?

Finally, perhaps a dumb question, but will the Mac run the files/documents (Word, Excel, Powerpoint) that I currently have saved on my Hewlett Packard PC?

Thanks for your suggestions...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" i7 iMac 2.8 Ghz, 1TB, 8GB RAM | 13" MBP 2.53Ghz 320GB HD, 4G RAM | iPad 2 64GB+3G *WHITE*
i have the #2 set up and i love it honestly... the 27" i7 is a beast... and i have aperture 3 and lightroom... btw you are are a amateur photographer with a full frame 5dmkII that is not an amateur camera.... i always wanted one of those... *so jealous

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS
MacBook Pros come with an SD slot I think. USB readers are super cheap. If you think you can justify getting an MPB and a 27" iMac, then the $15 card reader won't matter one whit to you.

OP
A
Reaction score