I plan on getting a mac. . .

B

BEEEsH

I have about $1300 (canadian dollars) to spend, so I figured I would ask you guys what the best thing to do is. (I'm a student in Advertising)

I'm thinking a mac mini with g4 1.25ghz 512ram, and 80 gig hard drive and spending the rest on a monitor of some sort. I'm not entirely sure though.
I'll be using it mostly for basic portfolio work.

Where's the best place to get a mac?

In my area, theres a Best buy, Futureshop and a Apple store opened up at a near by mall.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz/4 GB/500 GB
I like the Apple Store. It's a very nice place and the people, at least at my apple store, were very friendly and helpful. That way you cna get a feel and play with the different Macs tat the store, ask quiestions to the people who work there and should be knowledgable. I believe the base iMac starts at $1599 CND If you add a bit to that amount maybe you could get the base iMac, then you wouldn't have a screen to buy, and you would have a much better graphics card, a 1.8 GHz G5 with the 512 MB of RAM you want standard and a 160 GB hard drive. The eMac also meets or beats the specs of the mini.

I was going to go for the mini, but if you don't already have a spare monitor and keyboard to add to the mini, it seems to me to be a better deal to get the iMac. Unless of course part of the reason to get the mini is because of the form factor. I know in America, you can get a student discount of something like 6%, maybe thats available in Cnada too. I ended up getting a 20" G5 with AppleCare 3 year warranty for under $1900.

OP
D

djmitch

BEEEsH said:
I have about $1300 (canadian dollars) to spend ... (I'm a student in Advertising)

I'm thinking a mac mini with g4 1.25ghz 512ram, and 80 gig hard drive and spending the rest on a monitor of some sort. I'm not entirely sure though.
I'll be using it mostly for basic portfolio work.

Where's the best place to get a mac?