• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

choices: G4-733 or G4-450 or G3-400

J

jmusic_man

Hey guys.

I'm a music student and I'm looking into a Macintosh to run alongside my PC for a better computing experience (yay OS X)

I have some choices of used macs in my area...

G4 PowerMac QuickSilver 733MHz/256m/40g/cdrw/ati agp ($600Canadian)

or

G4 Powermac
256m, 20g hd, dvd player, zip, 16m ati agp ($400CAD)

or

Rev.2 Blue and White G3 400. Lots of Ram and disk space. All boxed with manuals! RADEON 7000 video card installed with Quartz Extreme Hack running!

448mb Ram (1x256,3x64), twin harddrives totalling 28Gb, built-in zip drive & original OEM 32x CD-ROM. Running OS 10.2.8 Jaguar (original disks included). Original Blue & White keyboard and hockey-puck mouse included. ($275CAD)

(sorry -- I copied the descriptions from their posts)

What are the advantages of these machines? Are there any prices that are an absolute steal?(Keeing in mind that they're in Canadian dollars).

Thanks guys!
-->James

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" iBook G3 900/640/40 _ _ Power Macintosh G3 All-In-One 315/768/20 _ _ 20 GB iPod