Would Like Help Choosing a Mac

Reaction score
Hello, folks.

I am a long time Windows user who has just had the dreadful experience of having another Vista notebook die on me (I am actually posting from a Linux partition which is still working quite fortunately). It is looking as though my best efforts will not be enough to get this computer back to working status and that I will have to get another computer. I am a Computer Science student and now seems as good as ever to finally devote myself to a Unix-based operating system. And since my university has the hook up with Microsoft, I can get a free copy of Windows 7 Professional and stick that in boot camp to ease my potential transition to a Mac. Similarly, my university has the hook-up with Apple and I can get Macs on a slight discount.

So my question for you gurus out there is this: what kind of Mac should I get? I understand it is a vague question but I am a tad nervous about a switch after comfortably (mostly) using Windows for such a long time. A bit of information to help, perhaps:
The most intensive things I do are software development related but I do not actually work with extremely large, complex code. The only things I do with video and audio are watching and listening: no actual artistic work. Not a graphic designer, not a musician. Just a guy who needs near-constant Internet access and enough power and memory to work comfortably and completely convince myself that this is the right choice. :Cool:

I am thinking of getting a iMac for expense reasons (do not aim to spend much more than $1500) and because of the fact that if I DO decide upon a desktop, I can still use this now-gimped notebook (again, thanks to Linux) for my light on-the-go needs. But everything from a MBP to an iMac to a Mac Pro (maybe not because of pricing) is under consideration. Can anybody out there help guide me into a proper direction?

Thank you for your time. :Blushing:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, and Macbook Pro