• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

How best to convert .mod files without losing quality

Reaction score
I'm very new to the video and mac world, so please - tread lightly on me! I've spent the better part of 2 days playing around with how to transfer files from a Canon camcorder with a SD Flash Drive and end up with a good looking product on DVD while using iMovie and iDVD. Here is what I have tried and been unhappy with. I have downloaded and purchased the appropriate plug-ins (?) for MPEG Streamclip. When I convert a .mod file to .dv file - iMovie doesn't immediately recognize the file and thus you have to manually import each file...major pain. When I convert to a .avi file and place it in my iPhoto library - iMovie picks it up and allows me to make adjustments without importing...very nice. BUT, when I create a .avi file and use the default settings - I seem to lose significant quality. The video is very jumpy when burned to DVD and played on TV. If I move the quality scale up to 100%, my files are ENORMOUS and the quality doesn't appear to be any better. Does anyone have any suggestions for settings that maintain the original file quality? When I play the files directly from my camcorder onto the T