Just won a ibook G4 M9426LL/A

Reaction score
Its my first mac and I grabbed this up for $201.99 Shipped. I am still very new to mac, But was this a good deal? It seems to be upgraded from the original to include 1.25 gig of ram instead of the standard for this model and also has a 60 gig hard drive. here are the specs of it. Please let me know what you all think and if I got a good deal or if I jumped the gun.
Manufacturer
Apple

Model / Part Number
iBook G4 M9426LL/A

Processor
G4 1.0Ghz

Memory
1.25GB

Hard Drive(s)
60GB
Optical Drive(s)
CD-RW/DVD-ROM ComboDrive
Floppy Drive(s)
Network Interface
Ethernet
Wireless
Airport Extreme Installed
Bluetooth
n/a
Form Factor
Laptop
Keyboard & Mouse n/a
Ports
2 USB ports, 1 Firewire, Audio, Video, Ethernet, Modem
Operating System
OSX 10.3

I plan on installing snow leopard and also getting a dvd burner to throw in it. But that will come a few weeks later. So what are your opinions good or bad? Thanks everyone! Hopefully I will be surfing this site with my own mac very soon! :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Model / Part Number
iBook G4 M9426LL/A

Processor
G4 1.0Ghz

I plan on installing snow leopard
You better change your plans. OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard will only install on an Intel Mac... which your iBook G4 is not.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You should be able to go with Leopard 10.5.8 although Tiger (10.4.11) would probably run better.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPad & iphone 3G
I had a 1ghz w/ 1gb of RAM that ran leopard great, Tiger would probably run a bit faster but I ran CS3 on my machine with leopard with no problem at all.

In terms of the deal you got at 200 shipped thats actually really good. I would expect a machine like that to go for 300ish.