Almost ready to make the switch

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" 2.66GHz i5, 1TB HDD, 12GB RAM, OS X 10.7.3, iPod Classic 160GB,iPad 1 64GB Wi-fi, iPhone 4S
I am almost ready to make the switch from a Windows PC to a mac. I am seriously considering the 27" iMac, but not sure which one to get. I mainly use my computer for e-mail, web surfing and limited photo editing for my digital camera. I am also a hobbyist 3D artist, using program such as Poser, Carrara (3D modeling and rendering) and Hexagon (3D modeling). I do limited gaming (Second Life and WoW). All of these run acceptable on my core2duo pc 2.66GHz, 4Gb ram and Nvidia 8800GTS 640MB gpu). My question is whether or not the entry level 27" iMac (with the ATI 4670 gpu and core2duo) would give acceptable performance, of would it be best to go with the i5 quad and upgraded gpu for an additional $300. The additional $300 is not a problem, but I don't want to spend it if it will not really benefit me. Of course it will probably benefit me in the long run, just looking for opinions to help me decide.

I have always loved the look of the Mac OS and even have my windows pc configured to resemble a Mac, using Object Desktop. I have used linux in the past, but got tired of having to recompile kernels and what not, so I figure a Mac, being based on Unix would be a great system.

One more question...Is OSX a 64 bit OS or 32 bit? I haven't seen that listed in the specs anywhere.

Thanks for your input,

Erik

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 Inch Apple MacBook Pro; 2.40 GHZ, 4GB Ram, 250GB HDD
Erik, I can help you with your second question. Mac OSX Snow Leopard is 64 bit you can find that on Apple's website on the Snow Leopard page.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
The extra cores will make your 3D renderings times shorter. Is it worth 300 dollars more? That's something only you can decide.