looking to switch...gradually.

Reaction score
Looking to buy a cheap mac laptop.
im looking to buy something really cheap < $200.

what can i look to get in this price range?
ive seen a lot of G3's G4's ? around that price range on craigslist. But I want it to perform well and run CS4. is this reasonable? possible?

and what is the difference in the softwares (the cats)? better? faster? just a different layout?

im a total newb.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook

ive seen a lot of G3's G4's ? around that price range on craigslist.

But I want it to perform well and run CS4. is this reasonable?
No, it isn't reasonable.
You would be expecting a machine that could be almost 10 years old (or older) to run the latest graphics software.

Not gonna happen.

If you got one of the very last G4 PowerBooks and maxed out the RAM, then perhaps it could run CS4 okay.
I wouldn't expect much more from any other older notebook around the price range you're setting.

OP
C
Reaction score
No, it isn't reasonable.
You would be expecting a machine that could be almost 10 years old (or older) to run the latest graphics software.

Not gonna happen.

If you got one of the very last G4 PowerBooks and maxed out the RAM, then perhaps it could run CS4 okay.
I wouldn't expect much more from any other older notebook around the price range you're setting.

would it have some sort of photoshop or Creative Suite on it already?
i really have no idea..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
No, it wouldn't.

Purchasing Graphics Software is no different for Mac than it is for Windows.
It is still separate purchase.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
nMP 6-core/32Gb/D700/512Gb: rMBP 15" 2.3GHz/16Gb/512Gb: iPhone 6 128Gb: iPad Air 2 128Gb: NEC PA322U
To run Adobe CS4 you need at least a G5, so that isn't going to happen.

CS3 should be okay but it won't be blistering performance...