How often do you replace your mac?

Reaction score
Ok so I've been going through PC's like crazy this last few years. On top of the multiple other problems I had with them, they would be completely useless in just over a year which at that point my warranty would be gone.

Now, I currently have a slow eMachines desktop that has only lasted a year and a half and is almost completely useless. My laptop and my wife's laptops have all died after a year so we have 3 dead laptops sitting in the closet. This is really getting ridiculous!

I've been really looking into iMacs this last couple weeks and i've been really impressed. I like that they come with a year warranty and an extra two years can be purches for pretty cheap.

My question for you guys is how often do you end up having to buy a new Mac whether it be for it being outdated or not working?

Reaction score
I've been using both my Macbook and my iMac for more than two years now. I am not exaggerating or being biased in any way when I say this, but both of them are working as good as the day that I bought them. I do experience hiccups every once in a while, but it's not like I expect either of them to last forever, you know. With proper maintenance and care both internally and externally, you should expect your Mac to last for a very long time.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
I'm still using a Power Mac G5 from 2003.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
My MacBook Pro hits 3 years old later this month.

First computer since the early 80's that I've not felt compelled to replace after about 12 months. It is the first computer I've owned since the early 90's that has made it beyond about 18 months as my primary home computer.

I'd like a new one, but have no compelling urge. This one is still working just as well now as when I brought it home for everything I do on it.