Adobe illustrator advice!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i mac
Hi all im new to the forums and also just made the switch from PC,so im also new to Apple Macs.
After reading about the various drawing packages available i see that adobe illustrator seems to get the most thumbs up.
As a hobby i am in to t shirt printing and need the software for designs!! I have a few questions which i seem to be having troubles finding answers for.Which i would be grateful if anyone could chuck some knowledge my way.
1>where is a reliable place to purchase software?
2>Does illustrator come as a combined package suitable to paint and vector draw? For example being able to shade within bold line vector drawings?
3>I also notice there are all kinds of different versions like "full".Is there anything thats more suited to the home use hobbyist as opposed to a big business?
Like a lot of people coming from a PC i have only used Corel draw.
Im very pleased to finally get a mac but now seem a little lost.
Any advice and info again would be much appeiciated and and i thank you in advanced.
Spizzo

after posting this i read the thread about gimp and inkscape ill try these out!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Custom PC
I've used Illustrator quite a bit, but keep in mind, I'm no expert.

Illustrator is dedicated mostly to illustrating vector-based graphics.

1. A reliable place would be anywhere that sells said software. If you're looking to purchase online, Adobe would probably be your best bet.

2. Adobe sells different packages of software, I believe you can buy it alone, or have it come with other Adobe products. As far as shading vector objects, you can definitely do this in Illustrator. You'll find that there are many different approaches to get the same kind of result.

3. I've only ever used the trial version (which is a 30-day trial copy with full functions of the program), and of course the "full, unlocked" version.