trackpad release

Reaction score
I'm posting in Switchers because I'm new to Mac and my issue may be obvious to old-timers, although I haven't found answers by googling or by searching this forum.

My issue is that when I drag and drop, Mac releases the selected item early. I have a Macbook pro with a trackpad that has no separate button. I click to select, then drag to move something (either in Thunderbird or the Finder or elsewhere) and if I'm not really quick, the item will be "dropped" before I have the chance to select its destination and release my finger. Are there some sort of settings I can change for this under System Preferences / Trackpad, or is there third party software available to further control the trackpad?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
alMB, 2.0C2D, 2GB, 500GB, SD, etc
Use 2 fingers. One to click and then the other to drag.

I like to use both hands, too--eg, one finger from each hand. But whatever your personal preference.

Reaction score
I like to use both hands, too--eg, one finger from each hand. But whatever your personal preference.

Yeah, sometimes I use 2 hands, but if I'm browsing a web page and scrolling with 2 fingers I have started to scroll with index in the middle and middle finger spread apart doing the scrolling so I'm ready to drag...you know, because I'm always in a hurry to drag stuff. In fact my index finger rarely moves once it's on the pad....so

Funny how quick I adapted...just 2 days and I already can't use my old laptop's pad...

OP
C
Reaction score
Use 2 fingers. One to click and then the other to drag.

Thanks for the advice. Actually, that's what I'm doing. I tend to use my index finger to click and my middle finger to drag, but items still get dropped early, no matter how hard or light I am pressing. BTW, I've used trackpads on various computers before, just never a Mac.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13"
Here is what I suggest doing.

Put your index finger at the bottom of the trackpad.