ibook or powerbook?

A

andyhume

Hi guys.

I am looking to buy some kind of portable Mac in the next few months, so am after a bit of advice here.

I work as a web developer, primarily on front-end code, user-interface stuff, but not much graphics.

Although I will not initially be using the Mac at work (can't afford to be learning a new OS in that environment!), I may eventually want to hook it up to a second larger monitor, and use it as my primary machine.

Which machine (ibook/powerbook) sounds more appropriate to you? Cost is not immaterial (of course) but I am willing to spend as much as required for a machine that will 'do the business'.

I think my basic question is, will I see a significantly improved performance from the PowerBook when running lots of apps together (calendar, email, 4/5 browser windows, bbedit, IM, etc...) or is the ibook more than sufficient for this (with 520MD memory of course)? What is essentially the difference between the two machines?

Bear in mind, I'm not doing much (if any) graphics/video work. And no games.

Hope I'm being clear. If not, feel free to ask any follow ups (if you have a few minutes spare).

Thanks guys.

Andy.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13" | MacBook Pro 13" | Mac Mini 2GHz C2D
it sounds to me that an iBook would do. what kind of applications do you use for making webpages? i have a 12" iBook and i write all my simple code and have 2 or 3 browser windows open, mail, Yahoo instant messenger and 2 or 3 finder windows and it does fine. i also do a little photoshop, mainly cropping and resizing, and i opend 20 40k images yesterday at the same time and i didnt take very long. the screen is a little small. i dont know about the other iBooks, but the max resolution on mine is 1024x768. that is all the external monitor will display too.

Reaction score