IT Pro making the switch....

Reaction score
Hello Everyone...

I discovered this site as I was researching ideas for my new computer. It’s been very helpful.

I am an IT Professional, with 16 years experience in the Windows world, and MS and Novell Certified.

I have been planning on getting a new system for home. To be fair, I waited to give Windows 7 a chance to influence my decision. It’s much better than Vista ever was, but it is still not much more than a fixed version of Vista.

After much research, I have decided to purchase an iMac (27")!!

One major factor that was holding me back was the cost of replacing my software to a Mac version. ---Especially the Adobe Creative Suite and Office Professional.

But software is always replaced... new versions will have to be bought sometime.

I think many people get scared away by the initial cost of a Mac. Some think a Mini is an entry-level system, but it’s not. Much of the price with some of the Mac systems comes from the LED screens. LED screens shouldn’t be compared to LCD screens, by price or quality. (These were some of my uneducated assumptions.)

If there is anyone out there who is scared away from a Mac because of price… make sure you are comparing "apples to apples" and not "apples to a lemon PC"

Remember, you get what you pay for.

If anyone has tips for my transition please share them with me.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Good Luck coming from someone like you, that made the switch a few months back. My main reason for the switch was photography. Mac's just work better.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
One major factor that was holding me back was the cost of replacing my software to a Mac version. ---Especially the Adobe Creative Suite and Office Professional.

Adobe will swap out your Creative Suite license and media for you. (Microsoft won't.)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3