My First Mac - What are some of the things I should be doing?

Reaction score
I just got my first white unibody macbook a few days ago and Im new to OS X and Macs in general. What are some of the things I should be doing like installing antivirus and what not. How do i protect my mac when i go on the internet. what settings should i change to make sure my mac is safe?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Just have fun...that's why you bought a Mac!;)

Virus's aren't really an issue like they are on Windows computers (not impossible, but very very rare).

- Nick

Reaction score
Much like pigoo3 said, you really don't NEED to download any virus protection, however if you go to Apple's site, search "iAntivirus" and download that one. I use it to screen my torrent files and stuff, just be safe. So far, I've had my macbook for 2 years and downloaded over 5,000 files and not one has had an infection. You're pretty safe.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
So far, I've had my macbook for 2 years and downloaded over 5,000 files and not one has had an infection. You're pretty safe.

That's a pretty good track record!:)

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" 3.06Ghz 4G Ram| iPhone 3G 8Gb
You mac is safe! No need to worry! jump online, download some programs and enjoy yourself! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
No prep needed to secure it before initial use. Just go ahead and use the computer and have fun :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
The 1st thing to do with your new Mac is to join this forum and you have already done that part of it .... :D
This is a great place to learn for the noobs !!!
Congrats on the new purchase and as mentioned several times ^^ .. Enjoy it thouroughly ;P