Windows - Mac switch at work?

Reaction score
Hello All, first post...sorry its a long one.

I could use some advice on workplace computers. I am a General Manager of a Honda dealership in GA and help oversee two other dealerships in our group. I am already an apple fan and user, (took two years of graphic arts in school as well as marketing and used macs) but we are currently using pc's at work. I HATE THEM. Because of the obvious (or typical) reasons we are thinking of switching all the management computers to macs with the 5 year plan of eventually changing all of them (approx 100-120 machines) to apple. We are consistantly working on these PC's and for some reason our IT guy refuses to run the new versoins of windows, I guess vista causes problems. I know switching will help for many reasons, and I know I would love it (no frozen screens, no ctrl-alt-del, no SLOOW internet) but I'm not sure what obstacles we will run into along the way since unless your doing graphics the workplace seems to be geared towards windows. I know there are some web-based programs we use that won't run on safari, and the internal operating system we will be using should work with it. I guess what I need to know is:
1. What problems should we expect with only having a few machines macs and the rest PC's as far as interacting, servers, files, etc...
2. If we would have to run windows on a mac, is it still worth it?
3. What would y'all do?
Thanks...sorry for the length....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
nMP 6-core/32Gb/D700/512Gb: rMBP 15" 2.3GHz/16Gb/512Gb: iPhone 6 128Gb: iPad Air 2 128Gb: NEC PA322U
Suppose the first problem will be your IT guy. If he's trained in Microsoft OS's (both server and desktop/workstation) and doesn't know much about OS X then that could be a major problem.

I for one would never want to switch to Macs for desktop and server systems at work - I simply don't know enough about them.