• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Trouble uploading iMovie to YouTube

Reaction score
Hi. . .I'm really new to this. I have a large movie I created in iMovie '08. It's 600 MB and 3 min. long with professional sound and high resolution photos. It will not upload. Always comes up as "error". So I compressed it using Quick Time, still no luck.

At one point, it uploaded 24.9 MB of the 587.4 MB but stayed stuck after that. It would have taken 4 hours, the note said.

Sure would appreciate any help! Joanna

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
Sounds like YT is a little broken. If I recall right, YT allows you to upload a maximum of 2GB for a maximum of 10 minutes of video If the movie is 3 minutes or more, then 600MB should be allowed.

YouTube has information on their site regarding codecs to use and other suggestions. You should track that down at the bottom of their page under the Help heading.

You may want to check out my YouTube guide for some hints. Perhaps my iMovie export guide too. They are here.

OP
J
Reaction score
SUCCESS!! I'm so happy I've been able to upload 2 movies to YouTube.