no choice but to switch....have many questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Dual G5 powermac
Ok guys, longtime computer repair guru, linux/windows, programming...PC has just pushed me over the edge this past week. lol be gentle!

My beloved dually died, (RIP Brainiac), and after adding costs, repairing it is stupid because it will either just break again or ill hafta upgrade SOMETHING ELSE. This is after i just bought a brand new nVidia 5700LE and a gig of ram (server ram is NOT cheap)

And after assembling my bros dually, it crashes for no reason!!!!

So once agian, i have huge projects due soon, and im out a workhorse machine yup..never fails.

So heres what i did to my dually to kill it, Ran discreet combustion, 3dsmax, AEFX, premiere, avid, photoshop, just CONSTANTLY..im an aspiring videographer...thank god for college software programs! i would run linux on the side just to keep my mind able to handle programming.

So im faced with a decision....try to repair my dually, which is going to cost atleast another 300$+ just to getit booted, then god knows how much to upgrade from dual 1.2ghz AMDs...putting my total well over 1,500$ ...not to mention the DIY watercooling system i was making ...

OR, just bite the bullet and get the mac. Im an SMP guy, but im in college, and im legally blind, (my only income is social security) so i would go for the dual 1.8ghz powermac g5. My college apparently is elgible for the discount, which takes it down to about 1700$, which isnt too bad.

I heard (but i cant seem to find) a discount for the impaired?...i need dual monitors, i assume i could just use my VGA ones? I know, this isa long thread, but i wanna make sure these things are what i think they are before i go and spend that much. So if anyone can asnwer even just 1 at a time, id be very greatful.