• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Need a different career

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2009 Macbook White 2Ghz 2Gig RAM 120Gig HDD
Hi All,

Has any-one on this forum changed careers succesfully?

I work in IT at the moment, Business Intelligence to be exact, so spend my days writing code, mappings and queries to keep a datawarehouse up and running, writing reports etc..... and I am sooooo bored.

I'd really like to have a career that isn't so dependant on computers, well PC's i suppose to be exact.

Everything I look at requires a long expensive training period, and/or doesn't pay as much as my current job. With a family and a mortgage that is important.

Sorry if this sounds like a moaning post, its not meant to be, i'd just like to find out about other peoples experience of changing careers, what they started out doing and what they do now.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13.3" Macbook Pro, 2.53gHz, 4GB mem, 250GB HD; 13.3" Macbook (White), 2gHz, 2GB mem, 120GB HD