Who, What, Why, When, Where

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Future prospect
Who are Mac people?
What do they do with their Mac's?
Why are PC people so hostile to Mac heads?
When will this stop if ever?
Where do I start?

Basically I've reached that time in my life were I need to make a decision do I stay with PC and all the hassle and heartache. Or do I make what I suspect could be one of the best things I have ever done and buy a Mac!
I'm 41 and have been dabbling in computers since the tender age of 15. My parents bought me my first PC for my 18th birthday and I have had a PC ever since. The Mac crowd were always there but I regarded them with indifference and ignorance. Neither disliking or liking but I must say the Mac kit always looked slick.
If I were to replace my PC tomorrow I would be in Vista territory and that fills me with dread. I work in IT and have to support newbie people trying to use a computer for the first time and have to wade through the bull that is Vista.
I want one less thing to worry about and Mac looks like it may offer me that.
The primary question is is a Mac right for me and my family? OK so who is using the computer at the moment
1) Wife web, document generation, Facebook, photograph viewing.
2) Daughter (who is 5) Music, Youtube, word games, photographs, drawing and painting.
3) Me Games WOW mainly, documents, spreadsheets, photoshop, Matrix 6, web browsing, music, Facebook etc...
My budget is what ever it takes within reason it needs to be static and feel like a piece of the furniture. So what is the correct Mac for me or am i barking up the wrong tree because of my gaming obsession.

Regards Tim

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 MBP (mid 2009), 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD. 24" Cinema Display. 32GB iphone 3gs, 32GB iPad