Time to give PCs the flick?

Reaction score
Hi,

Here's my brief story...

I'm a veteran software designer/computer programmer (30 years).

Unix expert (now Linux).

I'm old enough and know enough to realize (20 years ago) that the IBM PC and compatible (Intel architecture) was complete rubbish.

But, that's where the whole market was.

Now, I'm about ready to give PC's the flick.

I got rid of my desktop computer 2 years ago because of the constant noise (fan and disks). I got an Asus Laptop and ran Linux. Several annoying problems that never got solved (display, mostly).

Gave Windows the flick 2 years ago at the same time (except I write some Windows software so I have to have a Virtual Machine with the stupid thing in it).

Bought a new laptop computer, but the fan only works properly if running Windoze.

The manufacturer has agreed to refund my money.

So, I'm thinking...time to get of this junk and switch to the *only* alternative - a MacBook.

I know nothing about Mac's except they run a version of Unix.

Here's what I need:
  1. A powerful notebook computer (equivalent of 2.5GHz Dual Core PC expandable to 8GB ram, 250GB+ hard disk, running fast 7200rpm)
  2. An host OS that works :)
  3. Virtual Machine support (I need to run a Linux Guests and Windows Guests). Does VMware work on MacBooks? The VMS need to run near-native performance so that I can do software development.
  4. Usual external HW support: USB, eSata, external monitor, external KB and mouse)
  5. Working audio (need to run Band In a Box - I have it for Windows, so it should work OK in the windows virtual machine), right?

I've started doing research, but the above information is hard to find.

Even figuring out whether VMWare works has proved difficult...there's a thing called Parallels, but does this only work on certain types of Mac hardware (i.e. Intel)?

So, will a MacBook work for me, or should I retire from the computer industry and sell real estate?