Mac software

Reaction score
Complete newbie here. I have a pretty good pc with XP Pro on it and just bought an iMac 24" with the 2.66 processor. Not getting rid of my pc. Both comps are overkill as I do not game or publish or work on a computer. Just do my banking on line and surf and e mail. My initial unhappiness with the mac is the lack of software that would make life easier, such as a good uninstaller that would root it out and uninstall all of it. Hoping some day soon, some enterprising soul will make that

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.33 4GB: MacPro 8 Core 2.8, 16GB: MacMini 2.26 4GB: MacMin 2.53 4GB: iPhone3GS 32GB
Hi, welcome to the forums, and welcome to Mac!

Sometimes it takes a bit of getting used to but if your like many other in this forum, you will find a great deal of benefit, enjoyment in using a Mac.

Now, in regards to your post, I am not sure what you mean by 'uninstall all of it' but I would imagine what you mean is that there is no 'Uninstall' or 'Add Remove Programs' functionality like you find in Windows.

Macs are a bit easier and for a majority of applications simply dragging the application icon to the Trash (found on your dock) is the way to uninstall. For other applications that actually require an uninstall, the script is usually distributed with the application.

Could you be a bit more specific about what you meant?

Again, welcome!

OP
R
Reaction score
Thank you for the kind words. I have a third party uninstaller on my pc and it gets the programs out when you ask it to. I then go in to the registry and remove any thing left.
I am away from home and my main comps for a few days, but my main concern at the moment is I downloaded Clamxav and decided I did not want it and apparently did not follow the correct procedure to uninstall it. So when i get home, I will download the uninstall engine and if I can't get it out, will look up the procedure for a os reinstall, and hope that does it. A lot I have to learn about Mac.