• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

.avi in iMovie

Reaction score
Hi all -

I'm fairly new to both Macs and iMovie. I have .avi file I want to take chunks from and put together into one continuous chunk. But since iMovie doesn't accept .avi files, I'm not sure how to do this. Is there any kind of freeware conversion software I can use?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
Hi CLM55,

Download mpegstreamclip or handbrake and convert the file. Mpegstreamclip will convert to a quicktime movie which should be directly compatible with iMovie.

OP
C
Reaction score