Macbook Al to college 101

Reaction score
Afternoon Mac Mavens, I'm in need of some advise in a general way...

How to I prepare my daughter's Macbook Al for college this fall (<month now)?

I bought it for her last Christmas so she would have time to get her feet wet before leaving the ol' homestead.

Little history first: I'm totally new to Mac and am the last convert in our family (ran out of $$$$). After going through 4 years my oldest daughter was in college, she asked for a 15" Macbook Pro for her graduation present. That 4 years I spent maintaining 4 PC desktops and a laptop 24/7 with all the anti-virus, spyware, malware and firewalls that my wife and 2 daughters could care less about. Every time my daughter would come home from college for any reason, she tore down her desktop and brought it home so I could clean and sometimes re-install. Last Christmas, I bought a 24" iMac for my wife and a Macbook Al for my youngest daughter. Nobody bugs me for help any longer...I am no longer a Windows slave thanks to the Macs.

I may be paranoid, but what do I need to do to get the Macbook Al ready for the college's wired/wireless system? I know that's a very vague question, but I'm sure the knowledge in this forum knows where I'm coming from ;D

My fears are theft, virus, spyware and OS X configurations for best protection.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Don't have to worry about viruses. OS X has a great Firewall setting under System Preferences you should enable.

Find out if the dorms provide wireless service. Macbooks come with a wireless card already installed and it will detect any wireless signals nearby. You may need to buy a wireless base station and pay for internet service, but I think most dorms these days provide internet. You don't necessarily need an Apple Airport Extreme base station, but it does work really well with Macbooks.