running .exe files

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm brand new to this fourm and I'm brand new to Mac computers.

So far the transition from PC to Mac has been pretty intuitive, but there is one thing I'm having trouble with. I'm trying to run some executibles and they don't run. Instead, they open up in a text editor.

I'm aware that some programs that would run on my old PC won't run on a Mac, but the Mac should still be able to recognize executibles and at least try to run them, shouldn't it?

The program is Audacity and I don't think it was built exclusively for PC (or any one computer type in particular), but I could be wrong.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook. iLife '09. iWork '09. Mac OS X 10.6
Audacity? You mean the audio editor?

Oh, almost forgot! Hello and welcome. .exe files just don't work on Mac. Those are for Windows, OS/2, and Linux. There is an Audacity version for Mac. Just go to that website you have there and you should have a button to download the .dmg file. Then open the file from your "Downloads" list. There will be an installer. It should be simple, but I'll take you through that when you've gotten to that point.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
.exe files are executables primarily for Windows. Macs run Mac software, which is usually compiled in .app files.

There is a version of Audacity for Mac:

Audacity: Mac OS 9 / X

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13' Unibody 2.26Ghz
And for the few apps that don't have mac versions or alternatives - could run EXE's thru a program like vmware fusion or parallels..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook. iLife '09. iWork '09. Mac OS X 10.6
Yea, but you need Windows to do it, right?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core i5(3.6 GHz) 8 GB RAM, MBP C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 4 GB RAM, MB C2Duo(2.4 GHz) 2 GB RAM