Performance loss over time?

Reaction score
Hi,

I just bought my first Apple today. Don't laugh; it's actually a third-hand eMac (not iMac, as I thought at first) 700MHz model. The old one. Well, I got it for just over $60 USD and it seems to be in good working order.. however.. the last owner didn't know anything about 'puters in general and therefore never really touched it.

As I am a systems engineer and have been working with puters for just about 2 decades I can say I know my Windows .. however, I never touched Mac OS before and from all the forum posts I've read the past day I didn't know what to expect from the eMac. Anyway - it turns out to be the 700MHz model, G4 processor, 1Gb memory (upgraded in the past I suppose). I haven't set it up yet as I'm still at work right now :p but can't wait to get started on it!

The last owner showed it in a working state and I noticed a truely immense amount of applications on the Dock.. I was wondering if there's any way to tell if the amount of installed applications actually 'hogs' the machine or does it differ a lot from Windows in that way? The 700MHz already can't compare to Wintels as it seems pretty fast from what I've seen so far..

EDIT: oh, for those who are interested: it's running Mac OSX 10.5 [which surprised me as well as it doesn't seem to be supported].

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Well, it's a common misconception both on Windows and on Mac OS X that the number of installed applications in and of itself depreciates the performance of a machine.