• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Can't find video effects?

Reaction score
I'm new to Apple- I have the new Aluminum MacBook with 2 GHz and 2 GB.

I just started using iMovie, and no matter how many tutorials I watch, I just cannot find the video effects for the life of me. I've tried double clicking the video clips, right clicking, trying to find it everywhere. It's the iLife '09.

Can anyone help me? I'd really like to start making movies. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
In a project, double click on a clip and an inspector window appears. In about the middle you'll see a 'Video Effect:' popup. You'll also be able to set the clip up for speed adjustment and stabilization. There are tabs at the top of that window for other things too.

For transitions between clips look to the right in the middle of the whole editing window for the button next the the globe.

OP
A
Reaction score
See, though, I've tried double clicking already.. all that happens is that clip plays. I'm so stuck :/

Reaction score