• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

What is the Best configuration for video editing

Reaction score
HI, I am a PC video editor. Not by choice, I just couldn't afford a Mac when I started out. I am now making the long awaited switch to Mac.....
I have used Mac off and on and I have been trying to do my homework but I really need someone who knows what they are talking about. Nobody seemed to know anything down at the mac store.
So here is my quest......I want to get a new Mac Pro but I want the Best configuration for video editing I can get. I am shooting on a Canon 5D Mark 2, HD, 2k video files. The custom Avid PC I have now cannot handle!

Can anyone help me build my machine?
Specs Please:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
Any mac pro configuration can handle what you are doing. If you can afford the dual processor 8 core config, it would give you more longevity as things change / upgrade.

If you're getting an older Mac Pro, get as much ram as you can

If you're getting a new mac pro, get memory in banks of 3 to take advantage of triple channel ram.