Applecare - Is it worth it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2009 Macbook White 2Ghz 2Gig RAM 120Gig HDD
Just bought my Macbook a week ago and am wondering whether I should take out Applecare?

It seems really expensive to me at £200.

I would have thought that a higher end laptop would be able to last at least 3 years without any problems.

I work in IT so if the HD or RAM packed in I could replace that pretty easily myself.

But I would be very dissapointed if my Macbook couldn't make it through at least 3 years unscathed.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
I bought it when I got my first iMac (but it was only £85) and needed to use the phone line a few times at first because I was completely new to computers, let alone Macs.
However, with the use of sites like this and general internet searching I could have found out all I needed to know to solve anything from those sources really.
As you work in IT you are well equipped to deal with any hardware issues, so if I were you, I would save some of the £200 and just get some accidental damage insurance.
In fact you could probably get breakdown and accidental damage insurance for far less.
To sum up, no, in my opinion it's way overpriced for what you get.
(remember, the phone line you call is premium rate too!)

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Nope, not in my opinion. All electronics extended warranties are overpriced.
Every electronics reseller sells these high priced warranties today. For many, it is the highest profit margin item they sell.

Reaction score
I wouldn't get Applecare for a desk top, but I do have it on my MBP. With the speed of today's laptops and the heat they generate it's a good idea. I paid over 3 grand, another 350 seemed like a good idea. I would get it if you play a lot of games.