New to the Apple Universe - pondering about options

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'd like to introduce myself as a new member. My name is Pascal and I am highly interested in joining the Apple world! :) However, there are loads of questions and I think the guys at the Apple store are already sick of me being there so often! ;D

Like with other things in life, it is my first time and I want to do it right! :Smirk:

Let me list some important points about what I need a computer for:

Purpose
  • Work (Office Applications, Database mgmt., Internet research
  • Leisure (Gaming, Music, Videos)

Required benefits
  • Large screen (~24")
  • Portability
  • Advanced gaming
  • Flawless handling of large databases (more than MS Excl could handle)

This list probably seems undoable but after reading many forums and (as mentioned) asking lots of questions to the Apple guys, I was wondering about the following two potential setups:

1:
Powerful Macbook Pro + large screen
+ All benefits of a Laptop
+ Large screen
+ I would say average gaming performance
+ I guess flawless database management capabilities
- Not 100% gaming oriented

Inexpensive Work Notebook (the old white Macbook maybe) + Powerfull iMac
+ All benefits of a Laptop
+ Large screen
+ Good to very good gaming performance
+ No problems with database management
- Very high total expenses

Questions:

1. Is it possible to use a Macbook and an iMac together. Like for example, I come home from work and I would like to finish something that I have on my Notebook but would like to use the 24" screen of my iMac. In other words, does the iMac offer the same "docking station"-like features as the 24" LED Cinema display?

2. I know setup 2 seems insane but I can see one huge advantage. I could buy a rather inexpensive Laptop now, having in mind that I have some freedom to wait for a new iMac line to come out.