New User General Question

Reaction score
First let me thank everybody whose posts have helped me learn about my new machine over the last 10 days or so.

I have been using PC's, in one variation or another, for over 20 years. I know them well, having built a number of them for friends as well as myself. Two weeks ago, if you told me I would own a Mac, much less be a convert, I would have told you that you were crazy.

We bought an iMac at the suggestion of friends (two graphic designers and a professional photographer) mostly for photos and video editing. The only complaint I have so far is that the mouse isn't quite as responsive as I am used to. Oh, and I miss my "backspace" button (it gets used a lot the way I type).

Here is my question...How are PC manufacturers still in business?

Other than learning curve stuff like closing open programs on the left rather than the right, this is the most user-friendly machine I have ever used. The day we got the machine, we moved about 22,000 photos from an external drive into iPhoto. The 'Faces' feature on iPhoto is unbelievable. Sure, it takes some time to confirm who is who, but it makes finding pictures of specific people a breeze.

The iWork program works better than Office by a longshot. I do miss Publisher, but I have it at work and on my laptop (which will be replaced by a Mac as soon as funds allow).

I guess I will stop here, as I am not telling you anything you don't already know, although I do have one further comment.

You Mac People (and fortunately, that includes me now) need to quit being so quiet about how great these machines are. Invite friends over to use them. Send a notebook home with them for a weekend. Let them see for themselves how a computer SHOULD work.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB