keyboard and mouse won't work with powered usb hub

Reaction score
Hi,i am new to using macs,i bought one off ebay second hand about a month ago withough realising it has only two usb ports,it is a powermac g4,400mhz hdd,512mb ram running tiger 10.4.11.
Firstly i tried connecting a powered usb hub from one of the original usb ports to plug in either the keyboard or mouse but with no effect.next i installed a usb 4 port pci card internally but again no luck.
i have now tried a second pci usb expansion card but it only seems to work intermittently.
i have several questions that need answering and since i am new to macs but have lots of experience of upgrading windows computers any help would be gratefully received!!!
Firstly,am i right in thinking the mac os should recognise a internal pci card automatically??? the one i have now didnt come with any drivers and there are none on the website even though that and the box state it works with tiger10.4.11.
i have an external usb hdd i use,when i plug that into the original usb port and the k/b and mouse into the expansion card the mouse freezes,is this a problem of the psu not putting out enough power to power everything?? also the k/b is not recognised intermittently???
if this nwas a windows pc i would have problem solved by now but as i am a novice i amtearing my hair out,any help or sugggestions would be gratefully received!!!

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Firstly, Every single USB External Powered USB Hub I have ever used on any of my Macs has worked fine. I have a 500Mhz G4 (Same model as yours but faster) and all my hubs work fine. 2 USB ports was still quite standard back when that machine was made. That is an OLD Mac.

Also the ports are USB 1.1 like other older computers of that time period.