Very likely to switch

R

RobDreugan

Well, first off I'd like to say I'm glad I found this forum. I figured there was something like this out there, I just had to look for about 4 seconds.

I'm a video production student, and have been basically self taught on PC's and editing software in general. I used to do PC IT work, which is just wretched ;) .

The realization I have come to is that I need to be using industry standards for editing, which in this case is Final Cut 4. And sadly, I can't just put it on my pc. **** ain't gunna happen. So, having said that I've been looking into G5's and G4's trying to decide on which behemoth of a system to get.

I guess my main questions are, besides the 64 bit architecture on a G5, why is it so much faster than a G4? The other end of it is, you have to understand I grew up on AMD chips, so I've always supported the AMD vs. Intel war. Because AMD no longer uses the same measureing system that Intel does, its a little more diffuicult, but certainly easier to understand how an AMD 3200+ would compare to say, a P4 2.8, or 3.02 roughly.

I don't understand how Mac's gighz ratings are. I'd feel better if I just understood that a G4 1.25 = to a p4 3.0, or a p4 2.0. That would help my understanding of Macs tremendously, and I wouldn't feel so nausious when I'm looking at a dual 1.25 costing as much as a dual p4 2.8

The other question, is if you were trying to get someone to switch, what features might you tell them are obviously great advantages to going mac. I'm fully prepared to purchase one, I just need to know better what I'm getting into.

Thanks, in advance

Rob

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
well for the speed rating things i dont know if anyone has come up with an exact conversion but i will go to look for a chart that can help put things into perspective.

some of the great features are
no viruses
no crashes
no need to defrag
better user interface
quieter