HELP I'm trying to clean out old web site files from server

B

bluerose

Hi all,

I am a newbie to the world of web design.
A web designer created my site in dream weaver. After doing some research and testing the programs I choice GoLive to edit my own site. She hooked me up with contribute and sadly it would not work for the editing I needed to do.

Currently I am trying to clean up files that are on my server
that are not being used by my current live site.
I am having a very hard time understanding what is being used.

I tried downloading my web site (without out being connected to the ftp server) so I can just see what was active online . What I saw was not so simple. many extra files showed that were from my old site design. I spoke to adobe Tech support and still cant seem to
figure what the simplest way is remove old unused files.

All I am really trying to do is remove unused files .
Its very confusing to edit my site with the extra files floating around.
The live site is all working fine but the inside workings or to much to look at.
Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance

OP
V

vtupser

What I would do is look in your source code of a page and find any links that take you to files, html pages, etc. Also any picture files being used by the page and also any css (cascading style sheets) being used by the page. Basically, take a note of what files are referenced in the pages through sourcre code. If not being used, throw them out.

OP
D

d-funct

In my opinion its best to FTP onto the site, download EVERYTHING on there then as vtupser said look at the source and find all the links and what not and delete the ones you don't need off ... and if it breaks you can always fix it using the backup ;)

Reaction score
You could give RBrowserLite a try which is a free FTP program for uploading and downloading files in a simple windowed manner.

OP
B

bluerose

code???

Thanks
The thing is I really don't know Code.
Code scares me LOL I am dyslexic