Not a Question about Digital

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro - 15.4" 1680x1050 Antiglare - 2.7Ghz Quad Core i7 - 8GB RAM - 750GB 7200RPM HDD
Hello all! I'm an amateur/experimental photographer from Indiana. My main camera is a Nikon D60 (Don't hate! It was cheap...) but I recently inherited a Ricoh KR-5 Super from my fiancee's father. I'm not overly familiar with film photography, but I'm looking to get into it more. Now to my question:

I'm having a heck of a time finding any information on this camera! He thinks it was made around 1979ish...but he's not sure. I'm hoping that maybe some of you guys might have experience with this camera or a similar one. It has a couple of great lenses and I'm really excited to go pick up some film and try it out. Thanks guys and gals.

Trent out

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
I used Ricohs back in college - good little cameras, you might want to try black and white photography if you can find a place that still processes it, or maybe set-up your own darkroom for an added chalenge

The manual can be found here

Ricoh KR-5 SUPER II

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15"
Pictures

I took a look at some of your pictures, you have a very appreciative eye.

I will keep looking for more information on your Ricoh, is it a Super or Super II or Super III camera?

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
the nice thing about film cameras is that the actual camera only accounts for a fraction of the end result - film, film processing, and printing being the other portion. so as long as the optics aren't garbage, you should be able to get a decent photo (as long as you can focus properly with your own eye and get your exposure right (assuming any metering in the camera is probably weak or non-existant). bracket like your life depended on it.

OP
CodeSamurai
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs