Want To Switch To Mac And A Lot Of Questions On My Mind..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13"
hello friends,

i just joined this forum today.

i've been using windows for over 10 years - i'm ok with computers but realise i'm a getting a bit slower when trying to get a hang of new things.. But i'd like to move to Mac. From what i've heard and read it seems to be easier - faster and a more enjoyable environment to work on.

I have a tonne of questions - if anybody would be kind to respond to them - would sincerely appreciate. Thank you.

1. I'm using Outlook 2007 - can I transfer :-
A Emails
B Contacts
C Tasks
D Notes
to Mac OS?

* * My emails are in SEVERAL FOLDERS - same thing applies to my contacts - they are in several folders so I wonder how they can be transferred.
* * can all this data go to the Mac email / address book programs directly so do i need to get the Mac version of M/soft Office? E-mail i guess should be alright. But how about contacts and tasks?

2. Contacts in Mac OS - does it work better than Contacts in MS Outlook? Again, i'm getting tired of M/soft and would not want to load "Mac Office" so kindly help. I guess by now, you would be aware that i'm not very familiar with the names of programs and terminology of the Mac world so kindly excuse me for this.

3. I dont use word that much - but very heavy user of Excel. My current excel files
- is there a native program in Mac similar to excel?
- if I email out a mac "excel" file, can it be opened by a windows user?

4. I use voip programs for overseas dialing - can they be used in Mac also?

5. Is there any good program in Mac for storing passwords?

6. I like to frequently update my hardware such as keyboards - mice etc. Is all that stuff compatible to Mac? I usually will use an external monitor / keyboard / mouse for my laptop - does all that work with a Mac laptop?

Sorry if some of the questions seem stupid.

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score