Another Switcher. Hopefully I won't be disappointed

B

Bubba

Well,
I am new to the whole Mac experience. Having been a Windows Server admin for 5 years, and now a SAN / AIX professional, I am no slouch when it comes to computers. Heck I even have a few IRIX boxes at home.

However, I recently became a father and wanted an easy to capture my childs first moments on film. So, I bought a mini DV recorder and an AIW card for the Athlon64 machine. It proved to be such a pain in the butt that I havent taken very much footage. Not to mention the editing software.

So, I guess I bought into the whole 'it works right out of the box' concept that Apple has been spouting all these years.
I went to Apple's website and purchased a Dual 2.0 PM g5 from their certified stock. Figured that it was the same price as a new Dual 1.8, and came with 512 RAM instead of the stock 256.
So with credit card in tow, went out to newegg, plopped down the money fer another 1024Mb of RAM, and a 250Gb SATA drive, as well as a new 12ms 19" LCD.
So after purchasing all this crud, to "make my life easier" I'm sure I will appear the dumbass for not knowing alot as I ask questions, so please bear with me.
I hope that the promise of video editing and stills will bear fruit. Otherwise, someone is going to get a good deal on a dual 2.0 G5.

So, the first questions I have are..

What 'essential' software do I need?
I would like to do
CD/DVD burning
Family videos to DVD
Picture Management
surf
play a few games
compile GNU type code
email
manage my finances
serial port monitoring of SAN gear...

Second question..
I have a truckload of PC software. Are there any companies, (mainly games) that offer trade-ins or upgrade pricing on their games when switching platforms?

Sorry for the long-windedness

Here's to hoping I did not just fritter away 3K...

Bubba

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
For:
I would like to do
CD/DVD burning iMovie and iDVD
Family videos to DVD -ditto