VMFusion or Parallels?

Reaction score
Hi all - I am new to mac ownership and so have lots of windows software and currently no mac software. I tend to use Windows MS Office 2007 and Photoshop quite a bit, and can't really afford to buy both of them at the mo.

As a possible solution, I am considering buying either Parallels or VM Fusion...

Which is the best to go for? Also, what are the virus implications? I don't intend to browse the web through a Windows window.

Your help would be much appreciated.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Both Fusion and Parallels offer a trial download which you can try out and make your own decision as to which you prefer. Both work well but like buying a new car, everyone has his\her own opinion of what they like. :)

As for virus and nasty ware, if you run Windows in a VM or from a Boot Camp partition natively (which you might also consider doing), you need a good firewall, AV software, and anti spy ware and\or ad ware protection.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro, 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, not unibody
A FREEWARE Virtual Machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi all - I am new to mac ownership and so have lots of windows software and currently no mac software. I tend to use Windows MS Office 2007 and Photoshop quite a bit, and can't really afford to buy both of them at the mo.

As a possible solution, I am considering buying either Parallels or VM Fusion...

Which is the best to go for? Also, what are the virus implications? I don't intend to browse the web through a Windows window.

Your help would be much appreciated.